The Australasian Professional Society on Alcohol and other Drugs

Member Login

APSAD Awards

2013 APSAD Awards winnersCongratulations to the 2013 APSAD Awards Winners

The 2013 APSAD Awards were presented at the 33rd APSAD Conference Gala Dinner in Brisbane on the 25th November.


The winners of the 2013 Awards:

Early Career Award           Senior Scientist Award           First People's Award

Dr Matthew Gullo               Prof Paul Haber                       Stephen Ella



The APSAD Awards are given out every year and presented at the APSAD Conference.

There are three categories of APSAD Awards:
1. Early Career Award
2. Senior Scientist Award
3. First People's Award

Recipients will be recognised as having made an outstanding contribution to reducing the harms associated with alcohol and other drug use in Australasia.

Each APSAD Award receives a plaque and $2,500 to go towards subsidising the costs of attending an international or national conference.

Focus of the APSAD Awards
The Early Career Award is for excellence in research and practice relative to career opportunities.

The Senior Scientist Award is for a scientist who has made an outstanding contribution to the field of substance use and misuse.

The First People's Award recognises an individual that has made an important contribution to the advancement of the health of Aboriginal, Islander or Māori people.

All three Awards reflect excellence in the application of theory and knowledge to any aspect of drug and alcohol use or misuse.

The APSAD Awards are designed to:
  • acknowledge significant contributions to AOD science;
  • recognise and support young scientists with exceptional potential;
  • provide role models for the future generations of Australasian AOD scientists.

1. Early Career Award
You must be not more than 5 years post your last postgraduate degree and have been working in the field as a researcher or scientist for less than 10 years.

 While applicants are still eligible for consideration on the basis of having an undergraduate qualification alone, it is anticipated that successful applicants will have higher degrees. In recognition of the diversity of career paths, applicants who do not fit within these criteria are encouraged to apply and state their unique circumstances.

Selection Criteria
Evidence of a special or unique contribution to research in any aspect of substance misuse. For example, a major research paper in a high impact journal, a series of papers that constitute programmatic research, evidence of work in progress that has been underpinned by a peer reviewed grant that clearly advanced theoretical understanding and had some data to support the research, such as (but not limited to) conference presentations or published abstracts.

2. Senior Scientist Award
Significant, long-term contribution to a given discipline that is related to the drug and alcohol field.

Selection Criteria
Evidence of the practical application of published research findings to theoretical knowledge or contribution to evidence based practice.


Evidence of significant advancement in areas such as; basic sciences, in experimental laboratory settings, and in ethnographic and/or sociological sciences.

3. First People's Award
You can be an Australasian Indigenous person in research, training, practice, prevention, or policy in any area related to substance use at any stage of your career. APSAD also has a Senior Scientist Award and an Early Career Award, which are also open to Indigenous professionals.

Selection Criteria
Evidence of a significant contribution to research, training, practice, prevention or policy in any aspect of substance use. Nominees need to show the extent of the impact of their work and how it has made a substantial and practical contribution to one of these areas. In rating the nominee the extent to which the practical suggestions, treatment and policies have been taken up in the field will be considered.

For example
  • Research: major research papers in high impact journals, the impact factor of journals published;
  • Policy: a central role in the development of important policy that has been taken up at a local, state, national or international level, or leadership in the form of management practices and implementation of evidenced based practices;
  • Training: a substantial program of training and workforce development using evidence based strategies that have had a demonstrated impact on responses to Indigenous health;
  • Prevention and treatment: the development or implementation of evidence based practices to prevent drug use, prevent harms or treat the consequences of drug use.

Nominees must be nominated by a current APSAD member.

Nominees do NOT have to be members of APSAD.

  1. a Nomination Form completed and signed by both the Nominator and the Nominee
  2. a brief statement by the Nominator indicating why they support the case of their Nominee
  1. a 1 –2 page document addressing the selection criteria
  2. a copy of the Nominee's CV. This should differentiate peer reviewed and other publications, and provide impact factors and citation rates and/or other evidence of research impact
  3. copies of 3-5 prominent publications (i.e. career best publications)