The Australasian Professional Society on Alcohol and other Drugs


APSAD ConstitutionAPSAD Constitution
APSAD Council / The Board of DirectorsBoard of Directors:
APSAD is governed by a Board of Directors called the APSAD Council. The Council is elected by the membership at the Annual General Meeting. The Council includes the President of the Society, Vice President/President Elect, Immediate Past President, Secretary, Treasurer, and representatives from each state & territory and New Zealand. The Council also includes a number of ex-officio positions that do not have voting rights which include the Editor-in-Chief of the Drug and Alcohol Review, DANA Representative, First Peoples Representative and a Chapter of Addiction Medicine Representative. The Council meets four times a year. APSAD Council
The Society's staff are located at APSAD's office at Dorchester House, 149 Macquarie St, Sydney. See contact us page
Finance CommitteeFinance Committee
The Finance Committee has an advisory role in the financial management of APSAD, participating in the formation of the budget; recommending the budget to Council for approval; reviewing contracts with event managers; overseeing expenditure; recommending expenditure which fall outside of the budget; recording transactions and ensuring that the accounts are audited. The Finance Committee reports to and advises Council on the management of the Society's funds and ensures that revenue is maximised within the context of secure investments.
The Finance Committee membership shall be made of the following:
  • Treasurer
  • President
  • Executive Officer and,
  • any other member that it may co-opt from time to time (recommended to and approved by Council) and being comprised of no less than four financial members of APSAD (including three Council Directors).
Also participating in Finance Committee meetings when requested will be the Society's Accountants. The finance committee meets four times a year.
  • Anthony Gill (Treasurer)
  • Craig Rodgers
  • Anthony Jackson
  • Gilbert Whitton
  • Carolyn Day
  • Leanne Hides
  • Caroline Salom
  • Liz Baxter
Conference CommitteesConference Committees
APSAD Conference has two Committees made up from the membership. These committees have a role in organising and co-ordinating the annual scientific conference. The Scientific Program Committee is responsible for the scientific program. This includes the conference streams, selecting keynote speakers, determining streams for the conference, and reviewing and selecting papers, posters, workshops, and symposia - through peer review.
The Conference Organising Committee is responsible for reviewing and finalising the conference budget, reviewing the finances, marketing and public relations, sponsorship, additional business meetings held during the conference and the conference social functions.
Scientific Advisory Committee
Conference Organising Committee
Special Interest Groups and Subcommittees 

From time to time Council will set up a special interest group or subcommittee to oversee an aspect of the Society's activities. For example, the Early to Mid Career Researchers Subcommittee or the Medical Special Interest Group.

Members of APSAD are able to set up Special Interest Groups by contacting the APSAD Office and submitting a proposl for a new Special Interest Group which will be reviewed by Council.

Early to Mid Career Researcher Subcommittee

Australasian Smoking Cessation Professional Special Interest Group

Fetal Alcohol Spectrum Disorder Special Interest Group