The Australasian Professional Society on Alcohol and other Drugs

APSAD Awards for Excellence in Science, Research & Practice

APSAD Awards banner extended

Nominations are now being sought for the 2023 APSAD Awards for Excellence in Science, Research & Practice

Download the Awards Information Pack
Download the Awards Nomination Form

The 2023 APSAD Awards will be presented at the 42nd APSAD Conference in Adelaide 12-15 November.

As Australia's leading multidisciplinary organisation for professionals involved in the drug and alcohol field, these prestigious Awards are our unique celebration of the outstanding efforts and achievements of individuals and teams who provide devoted and unstinting service to their communities in diverse fields and go unrecognised.

Acknowledging dedication and excellence in our sector is a key part of the APSAD Awards and encouraging future generations of great researchers and clinicians.

The Awards are nominated by APSAD members and decided by the APSAD Awards Committee. 

All seven APSAD Awards reflect excellence in the application of theory, knowledge and practice to any aspect of drug and alcohol use.

The focus of the Awards:

The Early Career Award is for excellence in research relative to career opportunities.

The Mid Career Award is for significant contribution in the alcohol and other drug field.

The Senior Scientist Award is for a scientist who has made an outstanding contribution to the field of substance use.

The First Peoples Award recognises an individual that has made an important contribution to the advancement of the health of Aboriginal, Torres Strait Islander and Māori peoples.

The Clinician Award recognises excellence and leadership in clinical practice in the field of substance use in any discipline.

The Mentor Award recognises an individual who has made an important contribution to mentoring and supporting the career development of clinicians, researchers or students.

The Advocacy Award recognises the outstanding impact by an individual or a team in the alcohol, tobacco, and other drugs sector who works in the policy and/or advocacy area.

Please contact the APSAD Office by email at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. if you require further information.

Details of the Awardees and highlights of the 2022 Awards can be found here