The Australasian Professional Society on Alcohol and other Drugs

James Rankin Oration

One of APSAD Council’s important annual responsibilities is to select the James Rankin Orator.

The James Rankin Oration is an annual oration held since 1990 as part of the APSAD Conference and honours a significant contributor to research, practice, and or policy in Australasian alcohol and drugs.

The Oration is named in honour of APSAD’s first President Professor James Rankin who established the first medically-based combined clinical and academic program for the treatment and of study for alcoholism in Australia at St Vincent's Hospital in Melbourne in 1964. In 1978 Jim became the Director of the Drug and Alcohol Division within the Health Commission of New South Wales. In 1994 Jim became Chair of the Central Sydney Area Drug and Alcohol Service and Clinical professor at the University of Sydney. In 1999 he moved on to work as Senior Staff Specialist in the Northern Rivers Area Health Service to assist in the further development of their drug and alcohol services until his retirement in 2000. For a more in-depth look at James’ career click here to read James’ section in the University of Sydney’s 150 Years, 150 Firsts: The People of the Faculty of Medicine

Available to view on the APSAD YouTube channel



The James Rankin Orators have been:

2023 Adj Assoc Prof Scott Wilson
2022 Prof Kate Conigrave
2021 David McDonald
2020 Prof Wayne Hall
2019 Prof Steve Allsop
2018 Prof Doug Sellman
2017 Prof Paul Dietze
2016 Prof Amanda Baker 
2015 Assoc. Prof Adrian Dunlop
2014 Prof Alison Ritter
2013 Prof James Rankin
2012 Prof Robert Ali
2011 Dr Maggie Brady
2010 Prof David Penington
2009 Dr Ingrid van Beek
2008 Prof Ann Roche
2007 Dr Geoff Robinson
2006 Assoc Prof Ted Wilkes
2005 Prof Ian Webster
2004 Prof Jason White
2003 Prof Margaret Hamilton
2002 Prof James Rankin
2001 Dr Stella Dalton
2000 Prof Ian Webster
1999 Dr James Bell
1998 Prof Wayne Hall
1997 Prof Margaret Hamilton
1996 Dr Alex Wodak
1995 No JRO held this year
1994 Dr Robin Room
1993 Prof David Hawks
1992 No JRO held this year
1991 Dr Les Drew
1990 Prof James Rankin